TCP Students Perform in Fiddler on the Roof with the Lonesome Valley Playhouse

By: Alexes Niekamp

Fiddler on the Roof by Lonesome Valley Playhouse had a great turn out. The cast of Fiddler on the Roof was very talented and ranged from ages 6-79 years old.

The oldest member of the cast, Herb Voss, who played the Rabbi said, “Shalom Aleikhem wrote the stories in the 1930’s that Fiddler on the Roof was based on and as we can see from the present day world civilization that Jews are still being displaced, but they can also maintain a sense of humor.” The youngest member of the cast was Audrey Calvert who played a villager said, “The sewing machine scene was my favorite.”

There were many different levels in the cast of 40. For some of the cast members, Fiddler on the Roof was their first play and others it was their 23rd or higher.

 Three of our own TCP students participated in this marvelous production; Morgan White (Sophomore) who played Avram in the play said, “I enjoyed dressing up like a guy, because it is fun and I enjoy making people laugh. My favorite part of the play was the comedy and I also enjoy socializing, I am a big drama queen so I fit in perfectly.”

Audrey Barbe (Senior) who played a Russian said, “It was a really good show, there were some very talented people in the cast. I am glad that people liked it because there was a lot of work put in to the show.”

Alexes Niekamp (Sophomore) who played Chava(the youngest of the oldest daughters) said, “I enjoyed playing the role of Chava, because she is a shy character and in real life I am not really shy, so it was a great experience to be something that I was not. Working with mostly adults is also way different from the plays that I am normally in. This may have been my 23rd play but, up to the shows I still got nervous. Lastly, I am glad that the cast had been able to work well together, which is what made the show even better.”

The youngest of the five daughters (Bielke) was played by Theresa Calvert who said, “It was fun having a couple of lines to say in the play and I really like Tamee Niekamp as a director.”

The play is basically about a poor milkman named Tevye who is struggling enough as it is, when it is time for his daughters to get married, and the girls are in need of a matchmaker.

Tevye, who was played by Brian Martinez, said, “According to Tevye: as the good book says, heal us oh Lord and we shall be healed.”   

During the play the oldest daughter Tzeitel gets married first. She was played by Emily Arnall who said, “I enjoyed being a star, talk to my agent.”

In the play the matchmaker tries to set Lazar Wolf (the butcher) and Tzeitel up, but Tzeitel has her eye on the tailor, Motel Kamzoil.

Marnie Uhl who played the matchmaker said about her experience in the play, “It was fun playing a character that there could be happiness ever after, because my character arranged marriages.”

Sal C. who played Lazar Wolf the butcher said, “What impressed me the most was how many whole families were involved in the play.”

Tevye has a wife named Golde in the play, who also has to deal with all of the challenges in Anatevka. Kimberly Neil who played Golde said, “I have been in Fiddler on the Roof four times and it is never going to lose its charm.”

The fiddler himself was played by Johan Glidden who said, “I have been playing the violin for eight years and this was the ideal musical that I would have wanted to participate in as a violinist. I have watched the movie several times and definitely was glad that I got the chance to participate.

The cast had been practicing since the middle of August. There had been many rehearsals and many people who care and love the play. The week of auditions was very hard for the director.

The assistant director, Tamee Niekamp said, “Auditions were good and it was really hard to cast because we had so many great performers. Our original Tevye (main character) that was cast had to be replaced due to his heart condition and was replaced by Brian Martinez, who was honored to take on the role of Tevye. Also the original Yente (matchmaker) had to be replaced when she was tragically killed; with a great and loyal attitude Marnie Uhl, Chamber of Commerce in PrescottValley, became Yente the matchmaker, who was the person who encouraged the original Yente to tryout. The other directors and I were very honored to meet and get to know the originals a little bit. I was glad to have such an amazing cast; Fiddler on the Roof was an amazing show.”

The backstage manager, Annabelle Veatch said, “I loved being the backstage manager, it was so much fun, but sometimes it got a little crazy.”

Fiddler on the Roof was on Broadway in 1964 and soon after became a film in 1971. This play/movie takes place in 1905, inAnatevka,Russia. The movie/play shows and teaches a lot about what went on during that time and all of the traditions that they had. It is a happy, sad and heartfelt story, that keeps you entertained and wondering what is going to happen next.

The shows were on October 21st, 22nd, and the 23rd at Franklin Phonetics School in Prescott Valley. The tickets sold very well and there were about 200 people per show, and the play is still talked about to this day. The cast of Fiddler on the Roof experienced many mazeltov’s and traditions that they had never encountered before! Good job cast of Fiddler on the Roof!

Comments are closed.
