Spotlight on Anna Flurry

AnnaNationalMerit

By Mariecia Miller

Q: What award did you win?

A: It’s called the National Merit Scholarship Program. I had to take the PSAT to qualify, and from there the National Merit Board chose the top 50,000 scores. After that, they chose 16,000 Semifinalists. I then submitted an essay and an application, and they chose 15,000 Finalists, which is what I am. There’s one more level from there in order to become one of the 8,000 National Merit Scholars. If I become Scholar, then there are quite a few scholarships available for college, which is really incredible. This is hopefully going to open a lot of doors. 

Q: When did you find out?

A: I found out I was in the first wave of nominees before school let out my junior year. In the fall, I found out I was a Semifinalist, and I did all the applications, which were due in November. Finally, on February 5th I found out I was a finalist. I have to wait until mid-March to see if I win.

Q: Are you glad and excited you won?

A: Yeah, I’m pretty happy! I applied to the University of Arizona already, and I’m waiting to hear back from other colleges, but I know that this at least gives me a full ride to U of A.

Q: You also won a play writing competition. What was that?

A: It’s called the Young Playwrights Festival, and actually, Taylor Whittemore won last year, with a play about Greek mythology. I got third place last year, and placed first this year. They picked eight plays this year, and on March 3rd volunteer actors and directors will perform the plays. John Meyer is my director, and he is the manager at the Center for the Arts right now, so I’m pretty honored to have him working on this production.

Q: What is your play about?

A: My play is kind of about making fun of Shakespeare’s quirks. I took Mrs. Milliken’s Shakespeare class last year, and it inspired me to write this script. It’s called Twelfth Step, or What Will You: How to Write a Shakespeare Tragedy, and it has all sorts of strange things Shakespeare does in it. It’s about this princess named Ophlivia, and she falls in love with Duke Leonardo de Carpio, who was washed ashore after a shipwreck. But of course, Ophlivia is already engaged to this other guy whose name is Lord Ancientio. From there, the characters have a grand adventure involving multiple disguises, an angry scholar, and a surprise ending.

Q: Where and when is it being performed?

A: It’s being performed at the Prescott Center for the Arts on March 3rd. There are two performances, one at 2:00 p.m. and the other at 6:00 p.m.

Comments are closed.
