Senior Send-Off: Recognitions

On Thursday, two awards ceremonies took place. The first was the Academic Awards, which took place during the day in an afternoon assembly. During these awards, teachers honored students in their classes that excelled. The second awards ceremony took place at night, when the Senior Awards honored seniors for their scholarships won, clubs joined, and honors earned.

During the Academic Awards, seniors won three of the four departmental awards. Mathew Lanning was the Fine Arts Department Student of the Year, Amanda Bertsch was the Math Department Student of the Year, and Kate DuBroy was the Humanities Department Student of the Year. The only department to not choose a senior, the Science Department, honored sophomore Ethan Krafft instead.

The Senior Awards included a number of special recognitions. Local scholarship winners were called up, with Abbey Beaman, Markus Weinzinger, Solana Daniels, Fiona Hull, and Brianna D’Angelo among the most frequent winners. Amanda Bertsch was recognized as a National Merit Finalist and Flinn Scholar. During this section of the program, Mrs. Milliken awarded two Principal’s Student of the Year scholarships for $500 each. These went to Colter Richardson and Lizzy Rizk.

Honor society and 4-year activity awards were given out. The honor society ribbons that were distributed were color-coded for the society. Black represents National Art Honor Society, green represents Science National Honor Society, blue represents National English Honor Society, white represents Tri-M International Music Honor Society, and gold represents Mu Alpha Theta, the math honors society. White collars were also given to members of National Honor Society. Four year awards were awarded for Student Council and music class members, and Junior Lions awarded medals to its senior class members.

The honors cords were distributed at the end of the night. To earn Cum Laude’s maroon ribbon, a student must have a 3.4 unweighted GPA, take 4 honors/college classes, and have 24 credits. To earn Magna Cum Laude’s dark blue ribbon, a student must have a 3.6 unweighted GPA, take 8 honors/college classes, and have 26 credits. For the highest honor, Summa Cum Laude’s light blue ribbon, a student must have a 3.8 unweighted GPA, take 10 honors/college classes, and have 28 credits. A remarkably high number of students achieved Summa Cum Laude this year.

At the end of the night, the valedictorian and salutatorian were announced. Wearing the salutatorian’s silver cord this year will be Kaleb Lyonnais, and wearing the valedictorian’s gold cord will be Amanda Bertsch.